Great Lakes Region

The region is defined by water and draws its name from the three lakes systems of Myall, Smiths and Wallis. It extends from Darawank in the north, south through Pacific Palms to Hawks Nest and inland to Stroud.

Considered by many to be the best place in New South Wales to live it has perfect beaches, dazzling lakes, national parks, wide expanses of forest broken up with historic rural hinterland and a diverse range of wildlife.

The plant survey for the Great Lakes Region has been divided into the following primary sites; the links above have a list of all the areas surveyed together with details of all sites contained therein.

  • Darawank
  • Tuncurry
  • Forster
  • Great Lakes National Parks and Reserves. This page contains the following areas.
    • Booti Booti National Park
    • Bulahdelah State Forest
    • Bulahdelah Floodplain Reserve
    • Minimbah Sand Plain and Minimbah Nature Reserve Nabiac
    • Myall Lakes National Park
    • Wallingat National Park

All sites surveyed outside The Great Lakes Region have been included in their respective Region and can be viewed via the above links to the Manning, Gloucester and Hastings Regions.

© B M Ralley 2019